The White Cottage Mystery – Margery Allingham…

Whilst in Waterstones last week, I was looking at the crime section with no book in mind. The title The White Cottage Mystery by Margery Allingham caught my eye. Having read the back of the book, and seeing Agatha Christie and PD James, two literary greats in the crime genre endorse her writing style, I thought I’d purchase it.image

For the past week I’ve been reading this novella. The book was originally written in 1927 as a mini series for the Express newspaper. I have enjoyed this story immensely and would definitely re-read it, as well as recommending it to anybody who loves cosy mysteries.

Without divulging too much of the plot, Eric Crowther holds a secret of everyone who lived at White Cottage, which he held over them as a ransom. This puts everyone under the suspicion of murder. When the truth is finally realised and the real killer revealed, it is very surprising and unexpected.

I would rate The White Cottage Mystery 4 out of 5. I’ll definitely be buying more of Margery Allingham’s books in the future.

7 thoughts on “The White Cottage Mystery – Margery Allingham…

Leave a Reply

