Hygge: A Celebration of Simple Pleasures

The latest book I have read on Hygge is Charlotte Abrahams – Hygge: A Celebration of Simple Pleasures.

image

Having read Meik Wiking’s The Little Book of Hygge, I have found that nothing tops his book in terms of content.

Charlotte Abrahams book is written in a different way entirely, some areas of the book I found dragged for me and other chapters were mostly facts and figures and what furniture you should buy. A highlight of the book for me were her tips on how to add Hygge into your everyday. Hygge doesn’t have to be expensive. It can be enjoying coffee with friends, a nice meal with family or a cup of tea and a book/magazine under a blanket.

If I were to recommend one book on Hygge it would be Meik Wiking’s as it contains the best content in my opinion. As this is the final book I’ll be reading on Hygge I didn’t just want to do a book review of Charlotte Abrahams book I wanted to mention what I have been doing to make my life more Hyggelig, it is something I’ve being doing for years now, but I call it being cosy.

The things I do to be more Hyggelig are:

Reading before bed and when I first wake up. This to me is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day and a little self indulgence on a morning. I tend to wake up 30 minutes earlier to enjoy another chapter of a book.

Taking a break from social media for 24 hours. I tend to start this at 4pm on a Thursday afternoon. I know it’s cheating a little as most of the internet break will be spent sleeping, but it means that I have a full evening where I don’t have my tablet or phone glued to my hand.

Lighting unscented candles around dusk and warming my pyjamas on the radiator in my bedroom. On really chilly nights, I like to place a hot water bottle in my bed to warm my toes.

Making a pot of tea and savouring the moment. Thinking about nothing and just being in the present moment with my tea pot and tea cup.

Writing in a journal. Not only is this something personal that you can look back at, but also for future generations to see the kind of person you were and what your day was like.

A nice hot bath by candlelight with a lovely smelling foam bath or bath oil, music playing in the background, pjs warming on the radiator, a mug of hot chocolate and a book waiting for you in the lounge.

These are some of the things I enjoy doing to make my life that little more cosy and hyggelig.

Leave a Reply

